Clarity!

I’ve been working on a new book about being crystal clear. It took me a long time to get to this place. There have been many moments of revelation or aha moments over the years, but nothing too dramatic until I got very serious about it! Part of it is because I was so ill and dysfunctional. What if someone had told me what they did to get clarity? Would I have cared or listened? Perhaps I’d say, “You don’t understand!” Or, “You don’t know what I’ve been through!” Even better, “You don’t know what you’re talking about!” It’s my general response, because let’s face it, I’m an expert on me, myself, and I! At least, that’s what I thought. It’s not that I couldn’t hear anyone else’s perspective or opinion, but I wasn’t open to it. I could hear it, but easily dismissed it. I had many excuses for my condition, and couldn’t accept that someone else might know another way to help me heal.

My husband and I have been driving up the Mississippi River these past couple of weeks. We’ve seen the power of the river. It has served as the livelihood and the devastation of many people for many years. I see how people used the river to help their business, and then fought it as it flooded their towns. People put up sand bags, levees and took different tactics to save themselves. It was heartbreaking to read these different stories of the devastation many times. However, they survived! Those who didn’t lose their lives or move away rebuilt them! They adjusted their course. Built their houses on stilts or took other measures to protect themselves when the river overflowed. The river is constantly changing.

The world is constantly changing, growing, evolving and shifting. How could I possibly stay the same??? Yet, that’s precisely what I did for many years. I allowed my past to define my present. Very silly! I allowed myself to live in a mental and spiritual rut which kept me very sick. I lived in fear of people who had hurt me in the past when they no longer had power over me.

I didn’t give myself permission to be happy because I had always been sad and depressed. Not only that but I didn’t feel worthy to be happy. The world was scary and dangerous! You can’t control a river but you might be able to contain or work with it. You can’t control other people, but you can shine your light and be an example for all to see how to shine their own!

Treat yourself with love, respect and dignity so others can see how to to do it as well! I love to ask questions to get myself and others thinking to come up with their own answers. Asking questions helps to gain clarity. What needs clarity so you can change and adapt to the changing times? How can you be part of the solution and not the problem? What needs clarification?

Leave a Reply

