Balance For Success

This blog post was challenging since right now I don’t have a routine but somehow I get work done.   When I was in the Army, I remember getting up at 4:30 in the morning so we could “be all that you can be in the Army”.   The structure and routine was good for me since I was young and undisciplined.   However, after my military service ended, I no longer needed to do Army stuff and I wasn’t sure what to do with my time.  I didn’t structure it and later having kids with no routine just made my life more complicated.  At least when they started school, I had to get up, prepare meals and take care of life maintenance stuff by a certain time.  Now I am well beyond those days and finding myself with the need to restructure again, since now I know it’s important for my own well being.

My years of struggling with my mental health has also taught me there are some things that are non negotiable.  Actually, anytime your mental or physical health has declined, it is a good sign that something is out of balance.  It means to take a look at what you’re  doing, notice areas where you neglected yourself, and do some self care.  It took me a long time to realize this, too.  I believe success is an abundant life of health, wealth, relationships, and happiness.  I schedule my days around what creates the most meaning to me within the context of what is success.

In the morning, about 5:00, I walk or bicycle for a strong mind and body.

6:00 Clean up and put on clothes suitable for the day.

6:30 it’s breakfast and coffee; must fuel the body to be efficient.

7:00 I meditate for clarity and centering.   This is a very important part of my mental health, spirituality, and healing.

Much of my day will depend on client schedules but will include:

Check email, notes, and see what’s on the calendar.

Prepare to see clients.

Short break between clients.

Lunch or light healthy snack to rejuvenate.

Work on material for workshops.

Write for my blog, journal or letter to a friend.

Spend time with friends or family.

Play or get away for an adventure.

Time to prepare and eat dinner.

Network and collaborate with others for new projects and ideas.

Sleep for at least eight hours.  I simply do not function on little sleep.  I know some people can stay up late and get up early but that’s not me.  I’m also a morning person, therefore, I shut down at night.  It’s important to know your personal rhythm and what your body needs.   Most importantly, I strive to be flexible for changes in the schedule and make sure I’m not compromising myself.  It’s all about balance!

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 5

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

