Dilly-dallying

Today’s blog challenge is to write about how I plan to work through or move beyond procrastination.  There are countless ways people waste their time and sabotage their success.  For me personally, writing is a big deal.  Words, language, and expression in its many forms is very important to me.  Yet, many times I neglect it.  I want to be clever, funny, and eloquent in my writing, and since I know it’s not perfect, I dawdle and take my time.  Writing is healing for me, and it’s also one of the ways I get my aha moments.   So when I don’t do it, I’m actually stalling my personal growth and inspiration.  I overthink, over analyze, over critique everything and pretty soon, I’ve got nothing!

When I think about all the time I  waste on not doing something, I know it’s just a waste of time.  I know it’s going to come together.  There will be some perfecting, editing, and tweaking to do.  I may as well get started, right?   I love to be around little children, and watch them learn and play.  They don’t start off running around getting into everything.  They cry, squirm, scoot, crawl, stand, lots of falling, little steps, fall, get back up, and soon enough they’re running!  Most of their growing years and learning to solve problems is through play.  Sure, they might get frustrated, and sad, but they keep trying until they get it right.   They get some coaxing, comforting and praise or feedback from their caregivers.   They laugh with glee when they get it right, too!   I think it’s a very good model to follow.

Your initial work won’t be perfect.  It will have errors.  You will look back later and wonder stuff like:   What was I thinking?  Why did I think that was a good idea?  Why did I write that bull crap?  It doesn’t even make sense!  When I find myself doing this, I just laugh, hug myself, dust myself or keyboard off, and get back up.   It’s going to be okay.

In order to perfect my craft, I let go of the idea of perfection.   When, I started this blog challenge, I hadn’t written anything in a long time except for a little bit of writing here and there for my next book. This is helping me get back on track.   I’m going to keep up the momentum!  I’m so proud of myself.  This is my 7th blog post in a row!  Oh, in case  I forget to do it later, thank you!    Remember to be grateful and celebrate your successes, it helps to keep the momentum going!

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 7

Leave a Reply

