Wild Compassion

This year, I’m focusing my attention and energy on more compassion for myself and others. The other title for this blog post was going to be “cut the bullsh*t!” I’ve been cutting out all kinds of BS from my life and belief system lately. I just don’t believe the “I have to”, “need to”, and “should” messages anymore. It’s just that in this world there is judgment, lack of empathy, and impatience towards others and ourselves. If we’re not where we wanted to be or where we think someone else “should” be, it’s easy to be harsh, critical and judgmental. I don’t believe it’s my place to do this for anyone, including myself. It’s my responsibility to love myself, and to love others.

Wild compassion is forgiving others, letting them off the hook, being kind, gracious, and loving because I’ve received compassion, patience, forgiveness, kindness, grace, and love. It’s letting people be who they are without trying to fix them. It’s letting people grow and learn in their own time and in their own way. It’s being there when someone asks for help, but not insisting on my way. It’s letting people have their own belief system and not judging it. It’s recognizing we’re all at different stages of growth and evolution.

I used to be so hard on myself. I was critical, judgmental, and easily frustrated because I wasn’t where I wanted to be, I didn’t achieve my goals, and perceived myself to be a failure or sinner bound for hell. That’s just a bunch of bullsh*t and doesn’t help me to grow, but wallow in pity and helplessness. I was so miserable, sad, depressed, angry and unforgiving towards myself and others. I had no dignity for myself. Now I know better. I know to lighten up, be easy on myself, gracious, merciful, forgiving, patient, compassionate, and loving. Now I love myself. I love all of me, all of my flaws and imperfections. It’s okay to be human. I love my mind and body by giving myself unlimited and unconditional wild compassion.

Leave a Reply

